Prego and the Loon

Inspiring Blogger Award

In Awards on November 15, 2012 at 7:37 am

The leaves were changing colors to various hues of red, orange, and yellow. The air was crisp, and the month was October. It was exactly three years ago that I called the police, packed one single bag for my infant child and I, and escaped the clutches of my ex-husband. Ironically I left during Domestic Violence Awareness Month, and strangely I began writing this blog during the month of October. For me this is a form of therapy that helps me share, reflect, and try to put things behind me with the love and support of those around me (including my fabulous blogger friends!!) I also share my personal stories in hopes to educate others on domestic violence, and provide support for those who have survived the wreckage of an abusive relationship. I never imagined that a short month or two later I would be nominated for an Inspiring Blogger Award.

I would like to give a big thank you to Jo and Aaron at http://overtheedgeofthewild.wordpress.com/ Their blog is titled Over The Edge Of The wild, and each post unfolds a chapter of Jo and Aaron’s adventures around the world. I am currently living vicariously through this couple, and I am enjoying every twist and turn they take me on. Thanks again… this nomination means the world to me, and my efforts to fight domestic violence!!

The way the award works is that I now have to provide seven random facts about myself, and then nominate seven other blogs for the award. This first part is all about ME!

1) My fondest childhood memories took place at the wooden park, and catching tadpoles at the nearby creek.
2) I absolutely LOVE Shel Silverstein, and to this day I can still recite his poem Sick.
3) I LOVE animals so much that I decided to keep a mouse in my junior high school locker when my mum said “NO!”
4) Upon first meeting me I may come across as a very shy individual, but out on the dance floor I will prove otherwise.
5) I am a hopeless romantic that still treasures love letters from my high school sweetheart.
6) I have jumped out of a perfectly good airplane, and I would do it again!
7) I HOPE that you will click “Like” and Reblog to help educate others about domestic violence, spread awareness, and provide support!

In no particular order my nominations go to:

1) http://abuseandaddictions.wordpress.com/
2) http://notsosexinthecity.wordpress.com/
3) http://mountaincowardadventures.wordpress.com/
4) http://imnotdepressed.wordpress.com/
5) http://fitbellies.com.au/
6) http://jayjaysfavorites.wordpress.com/
7) http://purposefullyscarred.wordpress.com/

I included one blog for good luck! It appears that Lift Up Your Voice Speak Out is in the beginning phases of production. I wanted to offer my support and personal stories as HOPE for a brighter tomorrow.
*) http://liftupyourvoicespeakout.wordpress.com/

  1. Reblogged this on Living Life Positively and commented:
    Prego and the Loon is a truly inspirational blog. I am deeply honoured that I am one of her 7 nominations to the Inspirational Blogger Award. I am just trying to get through life and perhaps help a few others in the same kind of mindset/situation. Please take a look at her blog, I am sure you will find it a great, interesting and yes, inspirational read 🙂

  2. Thank you also from me, for being one of your inspirational blogs.
    I love those 7 facts about you… particularly the mouse in your locker!!
    You are an inspiration to many. Thank you for being so brave and sharing your stories. I can only hope and imagine that your words help someone who is suffering in a violent relationship to get out and start the life they so richly deserve. xx

  3. I am so honored and humbled to be named amongst these fabulous bloggers. Thank you, Prego and the Loon, for nominating me for the Inspiring Blogger Award. The work you are doing by sharing your stories, as difficult as that may be, will definitely help others, who may be afraid to speak out. I am glad to be chosen as an ambassador to spread the word about Domestic Violence and our need to stop this horrific situation that is in every city, village, country~ all over the world.
    All who have dealt with this scary, haunting, life-threatening situation, that often results in death, are inspiring to me….and definitely my Heroes. Thank you again….Hugs!

  4. […] and I would love to say a big, in fact MASSIVE thanks to Prego and the Loon for nominating me for The Inspiring Blogger Award!!! I love that you are reading my blogs, and deeming them worthy of the most awesome awards, and I […]

  5. Thank you very much for nominating my mountain cowardly blog – made my day! 🙂

    I’m also a huge animal lover (in fact, I do quite a bit of campaigning for animals) so I love the ‘mouse in the locker’ story too 🙂
    Carol.

  6. “I cannot go to school today said little….” I knew I loved your blog for so many more reasons than just that it’s incredible…I to treasure Shel Silverstein! I know that this isn’t the point of your blog, but I just had to let you know that even in the most random of times, blogging can somehow make people feel connected! Keep on writing! You inspire me too!

  7. You are avery brave person. Sounds like a lot has happened in your life. I look forward to seeing more of your blogs about your life.

  8. Thank you for visiting and following my blog. You are truly an inspiration. To put your story out there it just amazing. You are helping so many people by sharing your strength.

  9. Congratulations on the blog award– it is very well deserved. I wish you all the best in your endeavors– I admire your courage and your optimism. Thanks for following my blog, I look forward to visiting yours!

  10. Thank you for following my blog! I think you’re fantastic and so brave. I lived through a lot of abuse and in my past so will def be checking out your blog further. Love Lucy 🙂

  11. Thanks for sharing your story here and congrats on the nomination! Thanks for following my blog! Good luck with the award!

  12. Congratulations! And thank you for continuing to inspire others. Funnily enough, I was just thinking of tadpoles! 🙂

  13. I love that you visited my blog and are following me. And I’m glad I, in turn, found you. Keep it up – you’re doing a great job!

  14. Congratulations!! You have a beautiful and brave blog – you definitely deserve this award.

  15. Thanks of visiting and following my blog. Your story is compelling- inspiring. My next door neighbor could learn from you, truly.

  16. I’m so glad you followed me so I could in turn be led to you. As a SURVIVOR of abuse years ago, I commend your platform and am humbled by the reminder that my negative experiences are yet another reason why Mega Moxie was birthed. Looking forward to your posts, sister!

  17. Wow, what a moving, powerful blog. You write beautifully. Thank you for stopping by mine and for the follow. Regards, Karen

  18. I KNOW YOUR PAIN!!! This will HELP. HANG IN THERE. 🙂

  19. Your blog is both inspirational and beautiful. I look forward to reading more of it soon. Thanks for the follow!

  20. Hi there. Thanks for the likes and the follow at Pairodox Farm. And congratulations on your recent award. Nice job. I’m trying to figure how your blog is set up … the three panes up front had me a bit confused … but I’ll migrate back and figure it out. Anyway … thanks for the visits. D

  21. Congrats! Well earned 🙂

  22. I would like to echo the thoughts already on here. Your blog is inspiring and important. Voices such as yours need to be heard.

  23. God…i have been so moved with ur blog dat i promise to read all of them….life has shown some tough days…but u came out stronger…kudos to u..i bow to ur might lady..!

  24. Thanks for finding my blog and liking my posts. I finally made it to your blog today, for the first time, and am so proud that you chose to take your life back, to to mention saving your little one, by leaving your ex-husband. A huge congrats on the award. It’s well deserved!

  25. You are Great, your Mum is not just supporting you – you writing flows, is brilliant. the sadness will become the past, you are doing really well!

  26. Hi =) Thank you for dropping by my blog and sharing your support. I’m glad to have been pointed out to yours and to know that someone’s doing what you’re doing. Your courage is a gift to people, and your strength is much needed in this world.
    Congratulations on the award and may you continue extending your inspiration! =)

  27. You are an incredibly courageous person. Your son is lucky to have you as his mom. As the years pass you will surely change the world for the better. Thank God for people like you. I wish you happiness in every sense of the word. Peace.

  28. From what I have read on your blog you definitely deserve this award. Congrats and best wishes.

  29. […] and I would love to say a big, in fact MASSIVE thanks to Prego and the Loon for nominating me for The Inspiring Blogger Award!!! I love that you are reading my blogs, and deeming them worthy of the most awesome awards, and I […]

  30. You know, when someone asked the noble poet Frost if
    he perceives himself as a teacher, he explained:
    I’m not a teacher, but an awakener. I feel this blog is precisely the same because it awakens me, and
    makes me think.

Leave a Reply

