Prego and the Loon

To “LIKE” or Not to “LIKE?”

In Blogging on November 11, 2012 at 4:37 pm

To “Like” is to respect and validate.

In today’s society people’s personal stories, viewpoints, and actual facts are just a click away. I like to think that if someone is going to use their free time to create a post then it is obviously important at least to that individual. Everyday people pour their heart and souls out to random individuals online hoping to turn a few heads, and arouse a bit of attention. Maybe their post is positive, maybe it is negative, maybe it is factual, maybe it is fictional, and maybe it’s pure advertisement sometimes referred to as spam. Either way there is a person behind the blog driving it forward in hopes to spread some form of awareness.

Now I bring this to your attention because myself, and others often wonder should I click the “like” button. Sometimes a mental battle may go through one’s head sounding something like this, “I don’t like what happened to this individual, but I love the way he or she writes.” Another example may look like, “I don’t like this bit of news that is being brought to my attention, but I’m happy that there is someone out there that is informing me.” My list could go on and on, but I think you get the point.

Personally I believe:

The “like” button is a symbol of support.
The “like” button is letting the writer know that you have encountered their blog.
The “like” button allows the author to know that you have read their blog.
The “like” button let’s people know that overall you like what this post offers.
The “like” button is a symbol of one vote.

These are just a few thoughts, and personal opinions regarding the topic. It’s often something that runs through my head, and I know a few readers have also brought it to my attention. I spend a lot of free time pouring my heart into this blog in hopes to bring awareness so that no other man or woman should experience what I have experienced. In my opinion each “like” is a symbol of support. Each “like” brings hope and awareness to other men or women that may be experiencing similar difficulties. Each “like” is one vote for a brighter tomorrow, and a world without abusive relationships. Click “like” to help fight domestic violence. So my question to you is when do you feel it is appropriate to click the like button?

  1. Love this, thank you and thank you for liking our posts! πŸ™‚ xo from us to you…hugs!

  2. Reblogged this on Many of us's blog and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  3. Liking is an easier way to show support and appreciation than writing a comment. But both are indispensable to the writer to keep her/him motivated! We write because we want others to understand and share our thoughts. Because we need to feel we are NOT alone in our world. Our fights. Our joys. Getting a feedback from anyone, is the fuel to our “drive”
    And it is a matter of good manners, to a certain extent. It shows respect towards the writer.

  4. Reblogged this on Random Thoughts und kommentierte:
    Hear Hear!

  5. Reblogged this on Through my eyes: Adventures in Borderline land and commented:
    I think I probably over like, but I agree with this post πŸ™‚

  6. for me, like to say I was here and took the time to read the entire post and think about it. If I don’t get all the way through… a click on the view counter will suffice. A comment to say it touched me, one way or the other.

  7. This is blog with a lot of hearth, thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  8. Interesting discussion. I find myself “liking” things that somehow affect me, positively or negatively. They make me think, feel and expand my horizons in ways I may or may not be comfortable with. Thank you for sharing your very personal and at times painful thoughts and experiences and thanks for following my silly blog πŸ™‚

  9. I liked your summary of “Like”! Especially that it represents one vote!

  10. you’re so right on the money!

  11. Thanks for following my blog!

    Your post here gave me something to think about. It is interesting to see how others think about various things, and even though we are all different we are basically all wired the same. It is a passive form of feedback to maybe get you to look at yourself as well and think about things in a different way.

    I am pretty new to blogging and am trying to absorb it all amongst the other things I have to accomplish in everyday life. There are so many facets to it, but I am getting there slowly yet surely.

    And don’t call me Shirley.

    Have a fantastic day!

  12. Thank you for liking my status and following my blog, it is hugely comforting to think that someone cares about what you say! As you say each small symbol of support is hugely inspiring and in fact your blog on a whole seems to be hugely inspiring. I think it’s very brave of you to write about this and I hope it provides you with relief from all bad memories.

    Best wishes!

  13. I like to show support, especially if I do not know what to write or what I am writing doesn’t seem to be coming out right. I like when I like something to show I care

  14. I much prefer comments to the like button!!

    • Comments are definitely more personal, and I too would prefer to receive them. Unfortunately sometimes time restraints get in the way, and I would prefer a “like” or “follow” over nothing. Thanks for your time, and input!

  15. I am in full agreement with the “battle in my head” scenario in which I wonder if it is something that “should” be liked at times, but the other is true as well: the “like” validates the person sharing the info, and I have had more insight into this since starting my own blog last month..wondering what the masses of people “seeing: my blog are thinking…a simple like doesn’t take much, but it offers the author a sigh of relief that at least one other person gets them, i guess, anyway… thanks for posting this!

  16. I “like” that you honestly care about others who have gone through dramatic moments in their life, and life changing moments at that. I have seen my mom physically abused by my own dad and at the time it did hurt, but I forgave my dad and my mom (I know now that it takes two to tango). Anyway I can somewhat relate to the emotional stress your life has gone through and I find inspiration in the strength of your writing that teaches me, we all have something to give in this world whether big or small. You write to release your pain as do I, keep inspiring and encouraging us to keep going no matter what. I “like” that.

  17. I really like what you have to say. It only took a few minutes on your site for me to see that you are a careful thinker and an entertaining writer. I thought you might find it odd if I were to like all the posts of yours that I read just now and enjoyed, so I didn’t click like. After reading this, I see your stance, and I’m going to go ahead and like them now!

    • I would find it odd if you didn’t “LIKE” your own post because clearly you felt it was something worth sharing… and I would find it odd if you didn’t enjoy “LIKE”ing my post because I feel like a little girl on Christmas morning receiving it, and doesn’t it feel fabulously warm and fuzzy inside to be Santa Claus for a day? Thanks for commenting, and I look forward to further interaction with you!!

      • I guess I was just a shy liker at first, but that is quickly changing! I sure did enjoy “LIKE”ing your post.

      • LOL…I hope you enjoyed reading them as well too. Remember that the “squeaky wheel gets the grease,” and the more you give the more love which comes back to you!! Everyone is somebody special, and once in awhile we all need a reminder… help spread the LOVE!

  18. Definitely one big like, great blog!

  19. As someone who was in a similar situation many years ago, I thank you for having this blog. You are a courageous young lady, and your child is blessed to have you as a mother. God’s richest blessings to you both! ~ Marsha

  20. I love it when folk click the like button on a post. Visitor counts are great. They show that people out there somewhere are reading our blog but there is no way to know who these people are and no way, therefore, to engage with them. When someone clicks the like button, it is a sign of appreciation and also equivalent to leaving a calling card. I have found a lot of interesting blogs I would not otherwise have known about by following back to their own blog those who have likes posts on ours

  21. So, to like this post seems somewhat a cliche, but like it I must for I totally agree with you πŸ™‚

  22. Just wanted to thank you for deciding to follow Learning from Dogs. Best wishes to you and all your readers, Paul

  23. Lovely insights! Thanks for visiting my blog!

  24. Thanks for visiting my blog, and thanks for sharing your story very happy to see you turning such a negative into a positive πŸ™‚

  25. Reblogged this on justjmejones and commented:
    I totally agree on this! This was put VERY well!

  26. Reblogged in Dosps.worpress.com, thank you, is wonderful can read you

  27. Like is the virtual friendly smile.

  28. The role of a writer is not to say what we all can say, but what we are unable to say.
    _AnaΓ―s Nin_

    Thanks for following my blog, a simple like-means a lot..:)

  29. This is Beautiful! I was just having this same inner-debate, a few days ago… and My conclusion was “exactly” the same as Your’s.😊
    I am frequently reminded about the Nature of Reality: “It IS what It IS.” ☯
    Newton did Not Invent Gravity, Maslow did Not Invent “Maslow’s Hierarchy” Bill Wilson and Dr Bob did Not Invent “The 12 Steps,” Franklin, Tesla, Edison did Not Invent Electricity, they simply Tapped into a Truth of Reality. Electricity has Always been Here and Now, the Now for Neanderthals, ancient Rome, in this very Moment, the Now. The Now is Eternal and Infinite. It was the Now, 2,600 years ago, when the Buddha walked around India and Nepal, and the “same Electricity will be Now for year 3012 (Whether tapped into by flying a Kite with a key tied to it, or using Solar conversion, or Cold Fusion from Nuclear Conversion,) Electricity simply IS, just as Many “Things” simply “Are” Here and Now. Despite whether or not “We” are Conscious of the Truth (a.k.a.The Dharma,) makes no difference in whether or not it is True. The Truth simply IS, just as 1+1=2, whether we “know” it or not, it is ALways the Truth, it is Always HERE & NOW. The Buddha did Not invent the Dharma (The Buddha was actually very clear about this point; he described his Experience of finding the Dharma, the Transcendental Truth = Transcendental Reality, following this Path to Enlightenment, as Re-Discovering a forgotten Path that had simply been lost, like a path left unattended in the jungle, it was overgrown with vines and foliage, but it was/is/alway will be Here and Now.(THIS is very meaning of the term Transcendental: it Transcends, or simply ‘cuts across Space and Time) The Path simply IS, Always has been Here, Now, Always will be, Here and Now…. There simply ARE Factual Truths that exist in the Universe. No one “Invents” these Truths, they simply are the first OBSERVERS to Publicize these Truths of Reality…and they get their name attached to it, and eventually their Observation get accepted, retested, and then called “Law.”
    I’m not saying our shared Observation is as Profound as Gravity, Electricity, “The 12-Steps” or the Buddha-Dharma, but “profundity” is Relative, and “Relativity” is the opposite, the antithesis of Absolute, of Transcendental. So there are Relative truths and Absolute Truth.

    On that note, I absolutely concur with you. There’s a PROFOUND Difference between being Self-Centered, and Self-Loving, and I, like you ( and I Like You– πŸ˜† hahaha…that’s word play! a reminder that a comma “,” can make all the difference. Although in this situation, Both are true:, I, like you = We have a similar/shared perspective, AND, I Like You = I think you’re pretty darn smart and insightfulπŸ˜‰) “Linking” a post or comment, is just that simple, it means I “Like” it! And I Like what you say, and I like that you Like the things you say, or post, or whatever…. So it’s all in the INTENTION: Selfish-Promoting, or Self Acceptance/Self-Love means that it’s Perfectly Acceptable to (actually preferable) that One can or does, “Like” a posting, a Blog, and Observation, no matter who’s name is on it. So if it’s the Buddha, or you, or me, is ultimately insignificant. The INTENTION is what matters, and LIKING One’s Self, or One’s own post, or comment, is Perfectly Perfect! πŸ˜„πŸ˜˜πŸ’•πŸ‘β˜―β™»πŸŒŽπŸ™ (And now, you’re own Exemplification of Self-Love, Self-Acceptance, done so with Purely Loving Intention, has Inspired and Reminded Me of the same Truth (and given a Great topic to comment, blog, and Ultimately, to CONNECT with my fellow Self-Loving Humans. πŸ˜ŠπŸ’šπŸ™)

  30. Thanks so much for dropping by my blog and especially for following. I’m happy to discover the wonderful work you’re doing around domestic violence. Brava. I’m glad you found today’s post on Thich Nhat Hanh and mindfulness. His work is news worth spreading and can greatly help the abused find their voice.

  31. Good post! This makes me ponder.But ,for me , the topic on hand is all about free will;we’ll do whatever we want as long as we consider other people’s feelings .”Liking” other’s works is our prerogative.I agree,that is a sign of support.

Leave a Reply

